Jodie on a Corner in the Castro

Model: Jodie Walker

Photography: Faern

Interview: Erica Rodefer


1. Tell us about your sense of style. What do you use to express yourself? Clothes? Jewelry? Posture? Words? Music?  

I definitely use clothes, jewellery, accessories and music to express myself. I go through phases with all of them. I’ve been through hat phases, feather phases, and with my singing; jazz, hip hop and acoustic phases!! Constantly evolving.
Right now I find myself in a lot of long dresses and skirts, super comfortable fabrics, a lot more feminine than ever before… And leggings. Always leggings 🙂

2. Has your yoga practiced changed how you see yourself?

My Yoga Teacher Training was very instrumental in changing how I see myself, and from there my practice has come to be the facilitator of a lot of introspective exploration for me…

3. What made you decide to practice yoga for the first time? How is yoga different from what you expected?

I can’t really remember why, but I know it was offered at a Gym I used to do Step, Pump and other aerobic style classes at. I like trying new things so I went one day, and went back every week after that for years!
It took me a long time to understand the importance and impact of deep breathing to my practice. And it has completely changed my life since. So yeah, it is completely different from what I expected, in that it is not just an exercise or hobby I participate in occasionally, it is a holistic approach to life.

4. Tell us about your first yoga teacher. How did he or she impact you? How do you share those lessons with others?

My first teacher was a woman called Skye. She taught at the above mentioned gym. She actually had her own studio but it was quite a way out of town so twice a week she would come to the city to teach to reach more people.
What first struck me about her was her genuine friendliness and kindness, she made time to get to know everybody. And when I got a haircut, she noticed! And complimented me!
Skye taught me immediately not to push myself, to let things come naturally, I hope I emulate this belief in my interactions with others…

5. What motivates you to practice on those days when you just don’t feel like it? Do you have any tips for the rest of us?

Ugh. I am at a constant struggle with my motivation levels. I am making moves to work on it…
Getting enough sleep and water are two MAJOR ones… Other things that I’m exploring are acupuncture, Chinese herbs and time management!!

Erica Rodefer is a writer and yoga enthusiast in Charleston, SC. Visit her blog, Spoiledyogi.com, follow her on Twitter, or like her on Facebook.

Faern is an Artist, yoga practitioner and Photographer in San Francisco. Besides making as much time for tea as possible, you can find Faern in a yoga class, at her current art show or wandering the city via public transportation. You can visit her in various places online: FaernWorks website, Twitter, Facebook, Faern in the Works Blog.


Would you like to take part in this project as a model? Please be in touch by emailing this address sohum.selfexpression@gmail.com and we’ll send more information. If you are not in the Bay Area or planning a visit, do not worry, there are travel plans afoot, subscribe to the blogs http://www.faern-in-the-works.com and http://spoiledyogi.blogspot.com/ to keep in touch and get updates on travel plans. **please note: replies are numerous, they take a long time

Leave a Reply

