Welcome Barbara! Clarion Alley San Francisco

So-Hum : Self Expression Through Yoga

Model: Barbara Blum

Photography: Faern

Interview: Erica Rodefer

1.The only instruction you were given prior to this photo shoot is that you can’t wear traditional yoga clothes! Tell us why you chose your outfit. What does it say about you?

I’ve found that doing yoga in non-traditional yoga clothes is sort of tricky and inhibiting.. so I figured the idea behind this prerequestiste was to break out of the norm and that it was supposed to be fun. And for me, I tend to get pretty serious during yoga, so the idea of doing something fun and nontraditional sounded great. I went for a dress and heels, no easy task! I’d call it casual-pretty… which I think sort of sums up my style in general.

2. How does yoga help you to express who you are and who you want to be?

I don’t think of yoga helping me ‘express’ who I am so much as helping me get in touch with who I am. By that I mean, who I really am… on the inside, after stripping away all the constructs of society, my past, my immediate world and my own brain. And this is, of course, who I want to be.

3. What important lessons have you learned about yourself through your yoga practice?

There are several powerful things yoga has given me: The first and most important is that finding gratitude changes everything. When you choose to see the gifts that come to you, no matter how negatively they might be presented, your entire perspective shifts, and when your perspective shifts your reality changes and every facet of life becomes more beautiful and more meaningful. Secondly, I have learned that strength is an eternal well inside me, accessed easily with an inhale. The physical strength I’ve gained by staying present and breathing through difficult postures on the mat has directly translated into staying present and tapping into emotional strength off the mat during times of difficulty or crisis. It’s been truly amazing to feel this process in action. And finally, yoga has taught me, on a deep core-level, that I am completely wonderful and wonderfully complete, inside and out just as I am… right here, right now.

4. What’s your favorite pose? Why?

It’s extremely difficult to choose a favorite pose, since so many poses resonate deeply in such completely different ways, but I’m going to say ”Dancer.” To me this pose embodies expansion and beauty. I feel beauty in my soul and in my body and I feel like I could stretch out forever, physically and spiritually.

5. Tell us what inspires you so we can be inspired, too.

Beauty. It’s in the eye of the beholder and you can find it everywhere. When I see other people creating beauty through any of it’s endless mediums or I simply see the beauty of the universe in the moon or the sunrise we take for granted every day, it fills me with a fundamental joy that is contagious and oh-so-inspiring!

Erica Rodefer is a writer and yoga enthusiast in Charleston, SC. Visit her blog, Spoiledyogi.com, follow her on Twitter, or like her on Facebook.

Faern is an Artist, yoga practitioner and Photographer in San Francisco. Besides making as much time for tea as possible, you can find Faern in a yoga class, at her current art show or wandering the city via public transportation. You can visit her in various places online: FaernWorks website, Twitter, Facebook, Faern in the Works Blog.


Would you like to take part in this project as a model? Please be in touch by emailing this address sohum.selfexpression@gmail.com and we’ll send more information. If you are not in the Bay Area or planning a visit, do not worry, there are travel plans afoot, subscribe to the blogs  http://www.faern-in-the-works.com  and http://spoiledyogi.blogspot.com/  to keep in touch and get updates on travel plans. *please note: replies are numerous, they take a little time

Leave a Reply

