More From The Farmer’s Market Shoot: Jeremy Simon!

Please say Hi to Jeremy Simon and enjoy his interview below. Jeremy is part of this awesome AcroYoga team (Seren’s interview was posted last week! check it out here… )

Model: Jeremy (AND Seren of course :) )

Photography: Faern

Interview: Erica Rodefer

1. The only instruction you were given prior to this photo shoot is that you can’t wear traditional yoga clothes! Tell us why you chose your outfit. What does it say about you?
As a full-time yoga teacher, I spend most of my time in active wear. So I really enjoy those rare occasions when I can wear clothes that don’t stretch. For this shoot I’m wearing my favorite pair of jeans with a button-down Western-style plaid shirt. I’ve always loved horses, so I often dream that one day I’ll be a cowboy. I threw in a pair of striped socks, because all acrobats have a little bit of circus in them. I guess that could define my style, an all-natural down-home circus cowboy.
2. How does yoga help you to express who you are and who you want to be?
Yoga give me the opportunity to feel at home in my body each moment. It also gives me the chance to manifest my desires simply by living from the heart. When I feel connected inside, life flows naturally and everything seems to fall into place. This is such a great feeling and its become more and more common place since I started yoga.
3. What important lessons have you learned about yourself through your yoga practice?
Yoga has taught me how to live in harmony with myself and those around me. Practicing challenging poses, especially in partnership, has helped me to find the path of resistance. It’s so interesting how quickly we can make things so much harder than they need to be. In yoga we take a breath and appreciate each moment as it’s unfolding, this has been an incredible lesson for everyday life.
4. What’s your favorite pose? Why?
Wow, so many to choose from. I’d have to say Adho Mukha Vrksasana (Handstand). This has been the pose that has been most gratifying and challenging all at the same time. Learning how to balance a handstand has been a long journey that’s taught me how to be steady, patient, and humble.
5. Tell us what inspires you so we can be inspired, too.

I’m inspired by pretty much everything I come in contact with. To me life is one amazing opportunity after another, each moment is fully rich with potential and possibility for a new awakening. That said I’m deeply inspired by all my teachers. Namely Hanuman, the monkey god, who has a continual presence in my life. His pure devotion and life of service inspire me to be a better person. He’s the one that inspired me to play the harmonium. Now whenever I’m feeling stuck or uninspired, I chant to the divine and sit for meditation. Or I’ll look to the sky, in each of these moments I’m remind me how blessed we truly are. Life is good. 🙂

*you can also find Seren & Jeremy here:

and

Erica Rodefer is a writer and yoga enthusiast in Charleston, SC. Visit her blog, Spoiledyogi.com, follow her on Twitter, or like her on Facebook.

Faern is an Artist, yoga practitioner and Photographer in San Francisco. Besides making as much time for tea as possible, you can find Faern in a yoga class, at her current art show or wandering the city via public transportation. You can visit her in various places online: FaernWorks website, Twitter, Facebook, Faern in the Works Blog.


Would you like to take part in this project as a model? Please be in touch by emailing this address sohum.selfexpression@gmail.com and we’ll send more information. If you are not in the Bay Area or planning a visit, do not worry, there are travel plans afoot, subscribe to the blogs  http://www.faern-in-the-works.com  and http://spoiledyogi.blogspot.com/  to keep in touch and get updates on travel plans. *please note: replies are numerous, they take a little time

Comments
2 Responses to “More From The Farmer’s Market Shoot: Jeremy Simon!”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] can read Jeremy’s Interview HERE & You can read Seren’s interview […]

  2. […] Jeremy’s complete interview here and Seren’s […]



Leave a Reply

